Monday, January 20, 2020

Lagos Commissioners: Assembly Sets Up 16-Man Screening Committee


By Timi Joshua

With the submission of 25 names of Commissioner nominees by the Executive Governor of Lagos State, Mr Babajide Sanwo-Olu, three weeks ago, the Lagos State House of Assembly has set up a 16-man ad hoc committee to screen them before they appear before the whole House.

The Speaker of the House, Rt Hon. Mudashiru Obasa, who read the list of the ad hoc committee members, at today’s plenary session, said it would be headed by the lawmaker representing Somolu Constituency 2, Hon Rotimi Abiru, a fourth-termer.

According to Obasa, membership of the screening committee are: Jimi Mohammed (Ikeja I), Yinka Ogundimu (Agege 2), Abiodun Tobun (Epe I), Setonji David (Badagry 2), Victor Akande (Ojo I) and Mosunmola Sangodara (Surulere 2).

Also on the list are: Mojisola Alli-Macaulay (Amuwo-Odofin I), Rasheed Makinde (Ifako-Ijaiye 2), Lanre Afinni (Lagos Island 2), Noheem Adams (Eti-Osa 2), Adedamola Kasunmu (Ikeja 2), Suraju Tijani (Ojo II), Olusola Sokunle (Oshodi/Isolo I), Olumuyiwa Jimoh (Apapa II) and Abdulsobur Olawale (Mushin II).

The Speaker directed the ad hoc committee to report back to the House in a week. 

However, there was an unconfirmed report says that the Governor would be forwarding the second batch of 10 names of nominees in the next one week.

Leave a Response